Answer Me This – Summer!

Linking up with Kendra at Catholic All Year for a little Answer Me This!

summertime

1. Any big plans for the summer?

Well, last weekend we bought a house. We had to make sure last weekend was our closing date, because we’re going to be out of town every weekend from now until August 8th. We’re headed to some weddings, some weekends at our cottage, and I’m headed to Edel! The weekend of August 8th we’re going to spend getting the house ready for the Blessed is She Midwest party we’re hosting the following weekend. So…I think this is going to be a pretty busy summer!

They sent us the most adorable movers!

2. What is the strangest thing you believed as a child?

I always thought there was someone buried underneath our bathtub, so I showered for many, many years on my tiptoes. Somehow I thought it was less weird to only have my toes touching the bathtub (which was touching the dead body?).

3. What is your favorite amusement park ride? (can be a specific one at a specific park or just a type of ride)

I looooove rollercoasters. I was a little scared to read other people’s answers and see that a lot of women aren’t able to do roller coasters after having morning sickness during their pregnancies – I definitely am more prone to motion sickness now but I hadn’t considered how it would impact my dare devilry.

4. What’s on your summer reading list?

So, so much. I’m currently reading In This House of Brede (and loving it!) but I want to finish A Mother’s Rule of Life and some Flannery O’Conner. I’m also waiting for my library to provide the 7th Flavia de Luce book, The Girl on the Train, and the first J.K. Rowling mystery, The Cuckoo’s Calling. I read a book or twoΒ a week so these should get me through July. You can follow what I’m reading on my Goodreads page if you’re interested (especially if you’re interested in Catholic literature and thriller/mysteries.)

5. Have you ever fallen asleep in public?

Yes. Definitely in college lectures, on airplanes, etc.

6. What is your favorite smell?

My mom always wore cotton scents so in college I loved to sit in the laundry room when I was homesick – the smell of all the laundry reminded me of her. When I was pregnant, my cousin suggested I buy a new bottle of body wash and lotion to wear. She had done this and that smell always brought her back to the days when her little one was a newborn. I bought some cotton scent so now in addition to making me think of my mom, it reminds me of when Kateri was super tiny.

My cotton-scented Mom holding Kateri as a newborn. That's a lot of cotton, folks.

My cotton-scented Mom holding Kateri as a newborn. That’s a lot of cotton, folks.

One thought on “Answer Me This – Summer!

  1. motherhoodandmiscellany says:

    Sounds like you have a fun summer planned! I hope I’ll get to meet you at Edel next weekend. (NEXT weekend! Yay!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

