Home

Many a mom blogger shared this article recently about how Catholic Mom blogs are awesome and a beautiful way to participate in the New Evangelization.

The single most striking part of this article to me was this quote from Robert Farror Capon:

To be a Mother is to be the sacrament—the effective symbol—of place. Mothers do not make homes, they are our home: in the simple sense that we begin our days by long sojourn within the body of a woman; in the extended sense that she remains our center of gravity through the years. She is the very diagram of belonging, the where in whose vicinity we are fed and watered. She is geography incarnate, with her breasts and her womb, her relative immobility, and her hands reaching up to us the fruitfulness of the earth.

How amazing is this idea? We, as mothers are not simply homemakers we are simply home.

Suddenly I understood on a deeper level why Kateri only wanted to lay on my chest in the depths of sickness. I understood why when she falls down she wants me to pick her up. I understood why when she’s afraid, she prefers my arms to anyone else’s. I am her home. It doesn’t matter where we are, as long as we’re together.

I don't think I'll ever grow tired of being home to this little one.

I don’t think I’ll ever grow tired of being home to this little one.

My husband and I are closing on our first house in June. We are very, very excited, but this quote is giving me pause. It may be true that our mothers are our first home, but as we grow, we necessarily shift this feeling of safety. The key is that our first home is a person, and it is a mistake  if we think that we can transfer this sentiment to a physical building. Our first home is a person, and our home must continue to be based on relationships.

Instead of focusing on creating a home in the new house that we are purchasing, we will focus on being a home – the three of us within our family and the family that extends out from us. Our goal is to make our house a comfortable place, for it will only be a home when the people we love are gathered there.

One thought on “Home

  1. Laura says:

    “Instead of focusing on creating a home in the new house that we are purchasing, we will focus on being a home – the three of us within our family and the family that extends out from us.” Such an important sentiment! I keep trying to think of ways to make my new house a more hospitable place where people will gather and friendships will bloom. That’s important, sure, but if I don’t invite people over while I’m waiting for my house to be the perfect gathering place, then I’m kind of missing the point.

    Like

Leave a Reply

